BFI London Film Festival 2012 Lineup Announced

bfi logoThe program for the 56th BFI London Film Festival was announced this morning. Under the new creative leadership of Clare Stewart, BFI’s Head of Exhibition and Festival Director, the 2012 London Film Festival will screen a total of 225 fiction and documentary features, including 14 World Premieres, 15 International Premieres and 34 European Premieres. There will also be screenings of 111 live action and animated shorts during the 12 day festival which runs from October 10 through October 21.

Check out the complete lineup of films in competition below:

The inaugural Official Competition line-up, recognizes inspiring, inventive and distinctive filmmaking.

Everyday; director Michael Winterbottom

Ginger and Rosa; director Sally Potter

Midnight’s Children; director Deepa Mehta

Seven Psychopaths; director Martin McDonagh

After Lucia; director Michel Franco

End of Watch; director David Ayer

Fill The Void; director Rama Burshtein

It Was The Son; director Daniele Cipri

In The House; director  François Ozon

Lore, director Cate Shortland

No; director Pablo Larrain

Rust and Bone; director Jacques Audiard

Titles in consideration for the First Feature Competition recognize an original and imaginative directorial debut.

The Samurai That Night; director  Masaaki Akahori

Ship Of Theseus; director Anand Gandhi

Sleeper’s Wake; director Barry Berk

Beasts of the Southern Wild; director Benh Zeitlin

The Comedian; director Tom Shkolnik

Clip; director  Maja Miloš

Eat Sleep Die; director Gabriela Pichler

My Brother The Devil; director Sally El Hosaini

Neighbouring Sounds; director Kleber Mendonça Filho

Shell; director Scott Graham

Tomorrow; director Andrey Gryazev

Wadjda; director Haifaa Al Mansour

The Documentary Competition category, in partnership with the Grierson Trust, recognizes documentaries with integrity, originality, and social or cultural significance.

For No Good Reason; director Charlie Paul

The Summit; director Nick Ryan

Village at the End of the World; director Sarah Gavron

Turned Towards the Sun; director Greg Olliver

Les Invisibles; director Sébastien Lifshitz

Beware of Mr. Baker; director Jay Bulger

Free Angela and All Political Prisoners; director Shola Lynch

Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God; director Alex Gibney

West of Memphis; director Amy Berg

Canned Dreams; director Katja Gauriloff

The Central Park Five; directors Ken Burns, David McMahon and Sarah Burns

The Ethnographer; director Ulises Rosell

Closing the Awards section is the prize for Best British Newcomer, in partnership with Swarovski, which highlights new British talent and is presented to an emerging writer, actor, producer or director. The recipient of this prize will also receive a £5,000 bursary, courtesy of Swarovski.

This year’s nominees are:

Rowan Athale – director/screenwriter, Wasteland

Sally El Hosaini – director/screenwriter, My Brother The Devil

Fady Elsayed – actor, My Brother The Devil

Scott Graham – director/screenwriter, Shell

Eloise Laurence – actor, Broken

Rufus Norris – director, Broken

Chloe Pirrie – actor, Shell

Tom Shkolnik – director/screenwriter, The Comedian

This entry was posted in Film Festivals, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>